Blog Tour: #My Writing Process

I’ve been tagged by the immensely talented and utterly unstoppable Alex Shvartsman, Fiction writer extraordinaire. If it seems like I am kissing up to him, yes, I totally am. I feel I have to. He is the man who took my virginity, so I feel I have to thank him for that.

You should probably also know that I mean this is in a literary, as opposed to, literal sense.

You see, Alex is the first editor to purchase one of my fiction stories. In October, my story The right answer will appear in the UFO 3 Anthology of humorous Science Fiction

Alex is, so far, the only one who has published one of my stories. But like all aspiring writers, I hope to change that.

So what is this “tagging” I speak of? Well, according to Alex’s site, I need to answer some questions about my writing then, in turn, I get to pick two poor souls to do the same.

Here are the questions with my answers:

What am I working on?

I am currently writing a Sci-fi short about a female insurance investigator who goes to check on a suspected fraud claim. Since this is sci-fi, the claim is on a wrecked spacecraft and takes place at a repair station in space. While I enjoy the idea of the story, I find that it is proving to be more difficult than expected.  I usually crank out a short story draft in one sitting, then review it several times to give it some polish. This story, on the other hand, I have to pry out of my head  in constipated out-of-sequence chunks, making me question my process, ability, and general sanity.

 

How does my work differ from others in its genera?

Since I get a lot of rejection letters, I am guessing the answer to this question is that my stories differ because they are much worse than others in the genera. I am hoping to change that through a subtle increase in my work ethic and relentless dogmatic plagiarism.

 

Why do I write what I do?

I write because I like the idea of someone enjoying my stories.  It is also a challenge to myself, because if you have ever tried writing, you know you can bang out what you think is a masterpiece, only to find that nobody likes it– like, mom won’t even put it on the fridge kind of thing.  At first there is this idea that all those idiots you let read it don’t understand your craft, but then, you set it aside for few months, come back to read it to find out that the pacing is terrible, and you are tripping over all these sentences that used to seem buttery smooth, and that you somehow missed the fact that you accidentally changed the name of the main character from “Sven” to “Mike” and back again within the span of two pages.

 

How does my writing process work?

Hmmm… that question seems to assume I have a process.  I kind of liken it to guitar. People come over and see my guitar and they go “Oh, you play guitar?” and I go “I own a guitar, what I do with it cannot yet be called ‘playing’.”

I also own a computer and a word processing program.

 

This is the point in the post where I get to tag two other writers.

I am immediately tempted to tag Ty Drago of Allegory fame.  Ty is another person I am grateful to, as he is the first editor to publish my non-fiction writing.  I would also love to see his responses to these questions, but I know the man is working diligently on a book, so I won’t task him with it.

Instead, I call upon:

The Curious Farmer

and

The Book Mechanic

To follow in our footsteps and Blog their answers to the questions above.

– James

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

