TO DO I Didn’t.

I take a nap on Saturday at about 2:00 in the afternoon. Although, I guess you can’t really call it a nap when it lasts six hours.

I end up staying up all night and feeling pretty worthless, partially because I only did two out of twelve things on my weekend “TO DO” list (dishes and laundry), but particularly because I hadn’t written any fiction in a while.

I make a pot of coffee so I don’t go back to sleep, as sleeping would throw off my cycle off so bad that I might not make it into work on Monday.  It’s happened before.

I am about 2/3 of the way through the coffee when something, maybe the hallucinogenic mix of caffeine and over-tiredness, gives me an idea for a story. By 9:00 AM Saturday I’ve banged out a 2300 word short, which makes me feel a lot better about myself. I feel so good in fact that I continue to ignore my TO DO list, and get in two games of Starcraft II before I finally fall asleep about noon.

This time I keep the nap to a more respectable five hours and feel rested enough to mow my lawn (TO DO #3), but not quite good enough to weed trim (TO DO #4).

I read a bit of Terra Lemay’s live journal. She talks about how she keeps a log of the number of words she writes, and even has a cool little graph.  I find that to be a stellar idea and add a worksheet called “Word count” to the Excel writing file I have set up to track my submissions.

I enter in my one word count data point and wonder if this is going to be the type of thing I stick with, or if it will end up like the treadmill, a dusty embarrassing reminder of how, if I were a racehorse, I would be summed up as “good out of the gate but dies at the first turn”.

I feel pretty tired Sunday at midnight, but do manage to get in two more hours of StarcraftII before finally hitting the sack.

James

This entry was posted in Procrastination and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

